This image shows a large simulation of the distribution of matter in the universe, the so-called cosmic web, which evolved under the influence of dark energy. The simulation was run with 1.1 trillion particles using HAAC, a new simulation framework developed with the challenges of future supercomputing architectures in mind. Courtesy of Hal Finkel, Nicholas Frontiere, Salman Habib, Katrin Heitmann, Mark Hereld, Joseph Insley, Kalyan Kumaran, Vitali Morozov, Michael E. Papka, Tom Peterka, Adrian Pope, and Tim Williams, Argonne National Laboratory; Zarija Lukic, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; David Daniel and Patricia Fasel, Los Alamos National Laboratory. For the first time, the facilities and capabilities of 15 national labs will be presented in a combined booth

After unexpectedly missing the opportunity to exhibit their expertise at SC12, the Department of Energy (DOE) national laboratories will return to the conference exhibition at the SC13 international conference for high performance computing, networking, storage and analysis, to be held November 17 to 22 at the Colorado Convention Center (CCC) in Denver.

The national labs have been a driving force at the conference from the outset, when computational scientists from Los Alamos, Lawrence Livermore and others launched the initial conference in 1988 at a hotel conference center in Orlando, FL. Since then, the labs have presented their work in both the conference technical program and in the exhibition.

Tilted Rayleigh-Taylor instability represents a novel unit problem in which turbulence is produced by both buoyancy and shear and the mean flow is two-dimensional. The images show the mean molecular mixing and turbulent kinetic energy from the first Direct Numerical Simulations of this flow. The simulations, on 1536^2 x 4800 grid points, are also some of the largest to date. Courtesy of Daniel Livescu, Los Alamos National LaboratoryHowever, unlike in years past, the national labs will be sharing a booth at SC13 with the theme “DOE HPC: Greener, Safer, Smarter World.” In all, 15 different laboratories will be represented at booth #1327.
“The DOE has a really great story to tell about the research it supports in scientific computing and networking, and working together to present our ‘greatest hits’ in a combined booth will really show the impact of the department’s programs,” said Jon Bashor of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, one of the booth organizers. “This is an idea we had been talking about informally for several years, and now we have the opportunity to make it work.”

National laboratories operated by the DOE Office of Science are home to some of the world’s leading supercomputing centers for open scientific research: the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) and the Argonne and Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facilities. The National Nuclear Security Administration labs: Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos and Sandia national laboratories, have consistently deployed leading-edge, world-leading systems to meet their mission needs. Additionally, many of the labs have active research programs in applied mathematics, scientific application development, computer science and energy-efficient computing.

Among the DOE research accomplishments on display at SC13 will be this simulation by Berkeley Lab mathematicians Robert Saye and James Sethian showing results from using four separate equations to track the changing interfaces in a group of bubbles. One set of equations described the gravitational draining of liquid from the bubble walls, which thin out until they rupture. Another set of equations dealt with the flow of liquid inside the junctions between the membranes. A third set handled the wobbly rearrangement of bubbles after one pops. Using a fourth set of equations, the mathematicians solved the physics of a sunset reflected in the bubbles, taking account of thin film interference within the bubble membranes, which can create rainbow hues like an oil slick on wet pavement. The mathematicians used the Hopper supercomputer at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center to solve the full set of equations of motion. These facilities and capabilities will be highlighted in a booth program featuring presentations by HPC experts, electronic posters, demonstrations, roundtable discussions and a 3-D display showing simulations and modeling.

Featured presentations by leading HPC experts will include:

  • Scott Klasky from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, who will talk about the R&D 100-winning ADIOS, an adaptable I/O system
  • Berkeley Lab’s Kathy Yelick, who will discuss getting big science out of big data
  • Fermilab’s Robert Roser on “Particle Accelerators, Quarks, and How We Make Scientific Discoveries”
  • Bill Archer of Los Alamos National Laboratory who will review “Seventy Years of Computing at Los Alamos”
  • Idaho National Lab’s Derek Gaston will look at the MOOSE Massively Parallel Multiphysics Framework
  • Brookhavens’ Robert Harrison, will talk about “Big Science, Big Data, Big Compute”
  • Mike Heroux of Sandia National Labs on “Preparing for Next Generation HPC using Miniapps”

A demonstration station in the booth will feature interactive programs. These will include

  • An Interactive History: Supercomputing at Los Alamos National Laboratory, which traces computing at the New Mexico lab from 1943 to the present.
  • The MyESnet Portal, which visualizes the real-time data traffic flowing in and out of all of the Department of Energy science laboratories, as well as traffic activity associated with the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center and the Argonne and Oak Ridge Leadership Computing Facilities.
  • The Stack Trace Analysis Tool (STAT), a highly scalable, lightweight debugger for parallel applications developed as a collaboration between the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, the University of Wisconsin, and the University of New Mexico.
  • The staff of ESnet, DOE’s 100 Gbps science network, will host a roundtable discussion on “The Science DMZ: A Network Design Pattern for Data-Intensive Science.”

The DOE Office of Science will be represented by

  • Ames Laboratory
  • Argonne National Laboratory
  • Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
  • SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
  • Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility.
  • The National Nuclear Security Administration will be represented by
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Sandia National Laboratory

In addition, the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy will be represented by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory; the Office of Environmental Management by Savannah River National Laboratory and the Office of Nuclear Energy by Idaho National Laboratory.