R.C. Murphy Junior High School Wins Science Bowl at Brookhaven Lab

2011 science bowl winners

Click on the image to download a high-resolution version.Photo Credit: Photo courtesy of Frank Frego

With their coach, Patrick McManus, are first-place regional Science Bowl winners from R.C. Murphy Middle School: (from left) John Welde, Rajiv Moturu, Daniel Redlinger, Matthew Cornell and Felix Wang.

Locust Valley Middle School was the second-place winner, William Floyd Middle School took third place, and Longwood Junior High School took fourth place.

Lawrence Middle School won first place in the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Car Challenge in which students design, build, and race model cars. Two teams from William Floyd Middle School won second and third place. The first-place team’s car raced down the ten-meter track in 4.47 seconds, the second-place winners sent their car down the track in 6.34 seconds, and third place also came in at 6.34 seconds.

The Regional Science Bowl at Brookhaven Lab is part of the National Science Bowl® coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. All winning teams received medals and a trophy. The first-place team in the academic competition will represent the Long Island region at the National Science Bowl®, which will be held in Washington, D.C., from April 28 to May 3, 2011. The U.S. Department of Energy will fund the team’s trip.